I recall a story told by our lecturer years ago in our Sociolinguistics class. He explained how a language expression might sound nonsensical at times. He and his friend often teased each other, saying a thing or two about their languages. It’s considered a joke, back then. I doubt anyone can do the same thing today without being accused of racism.

One of the jokes was the way we say what English speakers call “catching the cold”, we call it, brace yourself, “enter wind”. I know, I know…. I think it may be because we think common cold is caused by one’s staying awake too late at night, and the wicked cold wind “enter” them and they fell sick.

You see, it’s as absurd as English speakers trying to catch the cold. Or should we say it this way: You catch it; it catches (and enters) us.

